Term Dates

Cranmer Term Dates 2018 - 2019

 

Autumn term 2018

Monday 3rd September 2018 ~ Staff training day - INSET DAY

Tuesday 4th September ~ Staff training day - INSET DAY

First day for children in Y1 – Y6: Wednesday 5th September 2018

Half term: Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 26th October 2018

Last day for the children: Friday 21st December 2018

Spring term 2019

Monday 7th January 2019 ~ Staff training day - INSET DAY

First day for children: Tuesday 8th January 2019

Half term: Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Monday 25th February 2019 ~ Staff training day (Cluster Inset) - INSET DAY

Last day for the children: Friday 5th April 2019

Summer term 2019

First day for the children: Tuesday 23rd April 2019

Monday 6th May 2019– May Bank Holiday

Half term: Monday 27th May 2019 to Friday 31st May 2019

Monday 3rd June 2019 ~ Staff training day - INSET DAY

Last Day for the children: Tuesday 23rd July 2019

 

 

Special Leave and attendance

Children of school age who are registered at school must, by law, attend that school regularly. Regular attendance is important, not just because the law requires it but because it is the best way of ensuring that a child makes the most of the educational opportunities which are available to him/her. There may be occasions when a child has to miss school – for example if he or she is unwell. Any other absence should be kept to an absolute minimum. In particular, parents must avoid taking their children out of school during term time in order to go on holiday. Satisfactory attendance is counted as attendance at or above 96%.

What the law says

The law makes it clear that parents do not have any right to take a child out of school for the purpose of a term time holiday. The regulations do state that Head Teachers may, in certain exceptional circumstances, grant up to 10 school days leave in a school year, but parents should not expect such leave to be granted as a right. Headteachers can no longer discretionally authorise holiday leave during term time. At Cranmer governors have decided that these exceptional circumstances will only be considered if a child’s attendance is already at or above satisfactory attendance levels of 96% for the ‘rolling’ year prior to a special leave application being made.    

The following reasons do not constitute an acceptable reason for leave to be granted during term time:~

  • Availability of cheap holidays
  • Availability of desired accommodation
  • Poor weather experienced during school holiday periods
  • Overlap with the beginning or end of term

How to apply for special leave during term time

Go to the office and ask for a special leave form (or available here)– this must be done at least 2 weeks in advance of your proposed leave dates. Fill in the form for the attention of the Headteacher. You should expect to hear from us within 5 working days. Term time holidays cannot be granted unless there are exceptional circumstances which might justify it and evidence provided accordingly.

What if I decide to go anyway? – What will happen?

If you take your child out of school regardless then this will be counted as unauthorised absence – this is the same as truancy and is treated in the same way – a referral to Education Welfare. Truancy is dealt with severely by the law and you risk fine and prosecution.

School website by Green Schools Online